Berlin ePrix 2021

The Berlin ePrix is an annual race of the single-seater, electrically powered Formula E championship, held in Berlin, Germany. It was first raced in the 2014–15 season.

The 2015 Berlin ePrix took place at a temporary circuit at Tempelhof Airport, that was 2.469 km long with 17 turns. But because Tempelhof Airport was used for housing refugees in 2016, the second edition could not take place there. The race returned to Tempelhof Airport in 2017 with an updated layout that features 10 turns and 2.250 km long. It is the only circuit on the calendar to feature old concrete that offers low grip and high tyre wear, as used in the airport, long turns, an indoor tunnel and a wide circuit.


Back for the seventh year, the race takes place on the giant apron section of the historic Berlin Tempelhof Airport. Drivers can expect a challenge with two circuits over two days, as the season-finale will see the return of the reversed NILREB circuit for Round 15.

The 2020 edition of the event is planned to have 3 doubleheader races, with each doubleheader being on a different circuit variation. One race ran on the normal layout, one on a reverse layout, and the final one ran with a changed section around Turn 5 and 6. This was due to the Covid-19 Pandemic that shut down Formula E between February and June.

Karl-Marx Allee/Strausberger Platz

Since Tempelhof Airport was used for housing refugees in 2016, a street circuit in downtown Berlin around Strausberger Platz was created for the 2016 Berlin ePrix. The circuit is 1.927 km in length and features 11 turns, with the pit lane located on Karl-Marx-Allee.

Facebook Comments